Shop with us!!! We sell the most advanced skin care anti-aging cosmetics on the market: cellex-c, phytomer, sothys, dermalogica, md formulations, decleor, valmont, kinerase, yonka, jane iredale, thalgo, yon-ka, ahava, bioelements, jan marini, peter thomas roth, murad, ddf, orlane, glominerals, StriVectin SD.

back to skin care discussion board front page with forums indexEDS Skin Care Forums Search the ForumSearch Most popular all-time Forum TopicsHot! Library
 Guidelines  FAQ  Register
Free gifts for Forum MembersForum Gifts Free Gifts offers at Essential Day SpaFree Gifts Offers  Log in

Professional microdermabrasion (vs. glycolic peels)
EDS Skin Care Forums Forum Index » Skin Care and Makeup Forum
Reply to topic
Maura L.
5% products discount

Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:29 am      Reply with quote
I'm pretty new to this skincare game, but I'm wondering what, if any, advantages there are to getting professional microdermabrasion treatments as opposed to glycolic peels?

What type of conditions might microdermabrasion treat that glycolic peels can't? Also, can the two be used concurrently or on some sort of rotating schedule -- or is that overkill?

The conditions I'm trying to treat are pitted acne scars (not that severe, but noticeable), discoloration, and fine lines around my eyes.

I've been getting glycolic peels for a few months and I always love the immediate effects. I leave the spa feeling great, with my fine lines and scars barely visible. But about two days later, my skin always goes back to its original condition and it's like the peel never happened. I don't know if I should just hang out and be patient in order to see some more long-term benefits, or whether this is just the superficial nature of a glycolic peel.

Can anyone offer any input here? Personal experiences would be great.
Maura L.
5% products discount

Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:16 pm      Reply with quote
All right, I refuse to believe no one here has had professional microdermabrasion!