Shop with us!!! We sell the most advanced skin care anti-aging cosmetics on the market: cellex-c, phytomer, sothys, dermalogica, md formulations, decleor, valmont, kinerase, yonka, jane iredale, thalgo, yon-ka, ahava, bioelements, jan marini, peter thomas roth, murad, ddf, orlane, glominerals, StriVectin SD.

back to skin care discussion board front page with forums indexEDS Skin Care Forums Search the ForumSearch Most popular all-time Forum TopicsHot! Library
 Guidelines  FAQ  Register
Free gifts for Forum MembersForum Gifts Free Gifts offers at Essential Day SpaFree Gifts Offers  Log in

What is the best strength of glycolic acid to start with?
EDS Skin Care Forums Forum Index » Skin Care and Makeup Forum
Reply to topic
lisavarner

Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:06 am      Reply with quote
I'm torn between 30 and 40%. I've heard that it's best to start off low if you're a beginner, but I have experience. I've used TCA 20% in the past and I've been using Tazorac for 7 months now. So I'm not new to exfoliating. Any suggestions?
jade-1234
VIP Member
20% products discount
free skin care

Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:36 am      Reply with quote
Did you use TCA 20% at home or through a dermatologist office? Even if you are not a beginner at exfoliation, I would still suggest to start off at a low dosage to ensure that you don't have an "adverse reaction" to glycolic acid. Do a patch test first if you will be doing this at home.
lisavarner

Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:58 am      Reply with quote
jade-1234 wrote:
Did you use TCA 20% at home or through a dermatologist office? Even if you are not a beginner at exfoliation, I would still suggest to start off at a low dosage to ensure that you don't have an "adverse reaction" to glycolic acid. Do a patch test first if you will be doing this at home.

At home. I only used it once on my entire face and just spot treated my nose the other times I used it. So you're suggesting the 30%?
CookieD
VIP Member
20% products discount
free skin care