Shop with us!!! We sell the most advanced skin care anti-aging cosmetics on the market: cellex-c, phytomer, sothys, dermalogica, md formulations, decleor, valmont, kinerase, yonka, jane iredale, thalgo, yon-ka, ahava, bioelements, jan marini, peter thomas roth, murad, ddf, orlane, glominerals, StriVectin SD.

back to skin care discussion board front page with forums indexEDS Skin Care Forums Search the ForumSearch Most popular all-time Forum TopicsHot! Library
 Guidelines  FAQ  Register
Free gifts for Forum MembersForum Gifts Free Gifts offers at Essential Day SpaFree Gifts Offers  Log in

Hair color help--Ion color and red gold corrector
EDS Skin Care Forums Forum Index » Skincare Tools & Do-It-Yourself Skincare
Reply to topic
kabston

Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:43 am      Reply with quote
I am an amateur home self colorist with a natural color of medium to dark brown with some red and copper undertones along with some gray hair (not much, but some is very noticable at my hairline). My hair is long, thick, and coarse with some curl to it.

Until recently I only used temporary, wash out color. Lately I have tried a couple of Loreal boxed colors in medium golden brown, and it all turns out looking medium reddish brown and is a little to dark for me. I have since learned that I am supposed to use a shade lighter than I think I want.

So, I visited Sally's and bought Ion Color Brilliance liquid in light golden brown and some red out color corrector. I followed the directions and applied to the length of the hair first and then to the scalp area (even though this is the opposite of all the color kits I have ever used). The color turned out still a little on the red/coppery side, and the hair from the root to about 2" out was even more so--because it is younger hair I guess? My hair was super soft afterwards, so I do have to recommend this product (assuming I can figure out how to get the color even and right)!